Tuesday, 7 April 2009

New Zealand T20 squad

They've actually released the full 15 players. Amazing. There's 15 back-up players also.

Big news? Chris Martin, Jeetan Patel, Grant Elliot, Tim Southee... all don't make the cut. As don't a bunch of other players. Instead, we're seeing Jacob Oram, Nathan McCullum, Peter McGlashan and Brendon Diamanti making the squad. Some of those names are no surprise, others a little surprising, but not in a bad way.

New Zealand are thinking tactical early on. They want their lower order to be as crazy and explosive as possible. They want power hitters holding clubs, not cricket bats. They want to have a chance in the competition, that's what NZ want. Aggression is the word of the day.

Hey hey, the brothers are coming to town.

The team: Brendon McCullum, Martin Guptill, Jesse Ryder, Ross Taylor, Scott Styris, Neil Broom, Jacob Oram, James Franklin, Nathan McCullum, Daniel Vettori (capt), Ian Butler, Peter McGlashan, Kyle Mills, Brendon Diamanti, Iain O'Brien.

Backup players: Peter Ingram, Shanan Stewart, Aaron Redmond, Craig Cumming, Peter Fulton, Jamie How, James Marshall, Gareth Hopkins, Grant Elliott, Ewen Thompson, Tim Southee, Michael Mason, Warren McSkimming, Chris Martin, Jeetan Patel.

No comments: